Monday, June 30, 2014

Epic Photo: Henry Cavill as Clark Kent in Batman V. Superman


                It's not the image of Superman getting pummeled by The Dark Knight that we wanted but it will do.  The above image is the first official look at Henry Cavill as Clark Kent in Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice due out May 6th 2016.  It could take a while at this rate to see some spandex if they release ever member of the DC Universe that is this cast.

Confirmed Epic Podcast Episode 32: Transformers Age of Extinction




     In Episode 32 of the Confirmed Epic Podcast we review the fourth installment in Michael Bay’s Sprawling Epic that is the Transformers Franchise: Transformers Age of Extinction.  In what we have been checking out Brad, Jerry, and Andrew discuss: Zombicide 3, Meeting TMNT Co-Creator Kevin Eastman at Heroes-Con 2014, HBO Comedies: Silicon Valley and Eastbound and Down, The legends of Cthulhu  by Warpo Toys, and new Ninja Turtles Crush soda.  In Epic News we discuss: Star Wars Episode VII potentially being pushed back until May 2016, Pacific Rim 2 releasing in 2017, a Shane Black Predator sequel, and Rambo 5.  

(Remember to email any questions or comments about the podcast to thepicreview@gmail.com and we will read your questions or comments on the next episode, also feel free to leave a comment about this episode below!) 


(You can also find the Confirmed Epic Podcast on iTunes, just search for "thepicreview", and if you have time we would appreciate it if you could leave us a review on i Tunes!)


(Editors Note: If you have any problems with the link either install adobe flash player or if you are listening from a phone simply follow the direct link to our audio here: http://thepicreview.podbean.com/ Thank You!) 


This podcast will only be available for a limited time (at least a week) due to storage constraints, so listen or download now.  In order to keep us from having to delete older episodes to post new ones please donate what you can via paypal!

Sunday, June 29, 2014

Must Watch: Dr. Who Season 8 Teaser Trailer


      While I am not a Dr. Who fan like BBQ17 I realize we have a lot who frequent the site, so for you I have posted the teaser trailer for Season 8 of the show recently released by BBC America.  Season premieres August 23rd and introdouces Peter Capaldi as the New Doctor.

So are you Who Fans excited for the new Doctor? Should I give this show a shot?

Saturday, June 28, 2014

Check it out: Figurarts Zero Green Ranger Statue


        Figuarts Zero and Bandai have teamed together to brings fans this epic Green Ranger statue this holiday season based on Jasson David Frank's portrayal of the character from the original Mighty Morphin Power Rangers series.  Check out more images, a release date, the price, and our thoughts after the break....

Friday, June 27, 2014

Epic News: Rumor is JJ Abrams wants Star Wars Episode VII pushed to May 2016


     There is a troubling rumor stirring at Disney where both Director JJ Abrams and Executive Producer Kathleen Kennedy reportedly want Star Wars Episode VII  pushed back until May 2016 due to Harrison Ford's broken leg. The problem? The big Mouse won't allow it.  According to sources Disney CEO Bob Iger wants a Star Wars film come December 18th 2015, and he is not willing to budge on the release date.  Star Wars fans would most likely love to see the Star Wars franchise continue to be released in May as it has been in the past, especially if it ensures a higher quality film.  The problem is that Disney already has Captain America 3 due out in May 2016 and Batman V. Superman hits that same month from WB.  If Disney can get Star Wars out in December it would most likely dominate the box-office from its release through February.  As bad as I want to see Episode VII, I hope Disney will produce the film that the script demands, even if it means delays; remember, Han Solo was rumored to be the lead of Episode VII.

So what does everyone think: Should Disney budge and push Episode VII to May 2016 or stick to the December 18th, 2015 release date? Let us know in the comments!


Check it out: Hot Toys reveals 1/12 scale The Bat


     After almost 2 years of speculation it looks like that Hot Toys is finally make The Bat from the 2012 Christopher Nolan Blockbuster The Dark Knight Rises.  While we don't yet have a price or pre-order information you can find our thoughts and more pics after the break.......

Check it out: Side Show Reveals new Dr. Doom Premium Format Figure


          We teased it last it and now Side Show has finally revealed and put up for pre-order a piece high end Marvel Collectors have been waiting a long-time for a 2nd Dr. Doom Premium Format Figure.  Find more images, the price, pre-order information, and release information after the break.....

Epic News: Guillermo Del Toro announces Pacific Rim 2 for 2017 and New Animated Show


               Legendary Director Guillermo Del Tor made a lot of Geeks happy in the above video when he announced not only a Pacific Rim 2, but a new animated Pacific Rim show.  As of now Pacific Rim 2 is set to release on April 7th 2017, with the animated show to debut sometime before then.  The first Pacific Rim was one of our favorite films of last year, and to hear that a Director who rarely does sequels like Del Toro will step back into that truly original world he crafted is truly epic news.  Also intriguing is the prospect of an animated show between now and then, hopefully it will serve to be familiarize the general public with the concepts of Pacific Rim and begin to get younger viewers interested in the property.  Remember the first film was a hit overseas but not as much in the United States, taking only $101 million in the States and a whopping $309 Million in foreign markets  

So are you guys as stoked for a Pacifc Rim 2 as we are? What are your thoughts on a Pac Rim animated show let us know in the comments!

Check it Out: Interview with Bryan Katzel of Warpo About the New Legends of Cthulhu Retro Action Toy Line on Kickstarter

    
   
 Unless you've been hiding under a rock for the past few weeks, you've surely heard about the new Legends of Cthulhu retro styled action figures that are lighting up Kickstarter. An awesome new company called Warpo has created a great H.P. Lovecraft inspired toyline that perfectly captures the aesthetic of the action figures of the late 1970's and very early 1980's (think Kenner's Star Wars or Mattel's Clash of the Titans) along with the cool extra stuff that went along with marketing pushes back then such as slushie cups, coloring books, and commercials. The Kickstarter project is doing amazingly well as it reached its $60,000 funding goal rather quickly and is now trucking along towards the $110,000 mark as of this writing. As of this interview, the project had already unlocked two  and they've hinted at the possibility of a series 2. Once the campaign hits $140,000, an action figure of Providence himself, H.P. Lovecraft, will be unlocked, while at $200,000 backers will be able to purchase an extra giant Cthulhu figure!

     As a huge fan of the works of H.P. Lovecraft and of horror toylines in general, I immediately jumped in to support this project. I also decided to send the find folks at Warpo a few questions which one of the company's founders, Bryan Katzel, kindly answered. Check out interview along with more awesome pictures after the break...

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Epic News: TMNT Movie Classics to be released in July


     Playmates has finally let collectors know when they can expect the movie versions of their favorite shell heads in the TMNT Classics series.  Playmates plans on releasing all for 90's movie turtles toward the end of July.  While other than the slow releases I have really enjoyed this line so far I am a bit underwhelmed by theses figures.  In my opinion they don't even compare to the original movie version turtle figures playmates put out in the early 90's which were one of the highlights of the original playmates line.  

What do you guys of these? Do they live up to the original movie turtle figures from the 90's?





Epic News: Shane Black to Write and Direct new Predator Sequel


      The man who played Hawkins in the original Predator: Shane Black will write and Direct the next Predator sequel.   According to Black the film will not be a reboot like many originally thought, but rather a new installment in the Predator franchise.  This should come as great news to Predator fans to know that someone as talented as Black, who also shares and enduring love for the franchise because it helped launch his career is continuing the series.   

So is anyone else as excited to see Shane Black return to world of Predator as we are? Let us know in the comments?


Must Watch: Hunger Games Mocking Jay Part 1 Teaser


                Lions Gate has revealed the fist teaser for The Hunger Games Mocking Jay Part 1 due out November 21st.  Not a traditional trailer the teaser is a viral marketing message from President Snow himself Donald Sutherland.

A 5-W Minifigure Review: Skuzbeast from Trash Bag Bunch by Galoob Toys

 Who?

Skuzzbeast, one of the villainous Trashors from the Trash Bag Bunch by Galoob

What?

      Created by Mel Birnkrant (of Outer Space Men and Colorforms fame) and released by Galoob in 1991, the Trash Bag Bunch had two things going for it: An environmental theme and a cool gimmick. Skuzzbeast is a solid plastic minifigure of a vicious evil creature that stands just a hair shy of 2 1/2 inches tall. Unlike many minifigures, he's also fully painted. More, after the break...

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Must Watch: Ninja Turtles Trailer 2


              It has been awhile since we have seen any real footage from Michael Bay's Ninja Turtles, but with August 8th approaching Paramount has released the 2nd trailer for the film which you can see above.  I have to say after watching this trailer this is the best I have felt about this reboot, some of the wrongs fans have had with what we have seen so far seem to be somewhat resolved.  I think most of us life long TMNT fans would be best served at this point to embrace this film as a fresh incarnation and give the film a shot before we crap on it. While their are things I logistically have a problem with such as the turtles size and movement , this trailer confirms that they at least got the essence of these characters right as well as the core narrative of brotherhood.  Ninja Turtles opens August 8th!

Let us know what you think in the comments, does anyone feel better about this reboot now that they have seen this trailer?


Action Figure Review: Dojo Splinter from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles by Playmates Toys


     The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles themselves are amazingly enduring and fun characters that almost anyone can relate to, but for me it is Splinter who is the heart of TMNT. Whether your favorite TMNT canon depicts Splinter as Hamato Yoshi himself, his reincarnated spirit, or as Yoshi's pet rat, the character's duel roles as sensei and father to the turtles truly conveys those core values that are at the heart of what we love about the TMNT: Family. Honor. Learning. Growth. Love. In fact, Master Splinter might just be one of the greatest father figures that we see in any form of media. He has to truly balance preparing his sons for a world that fears them with such an unconditional love and acceptance of who they are and how they must rely on one another. One of my favorite stories involving Splinter comes from issue 21 of the IDW TMNT series. In it, the turtles are suddenly attacked by a masked assailant who pushes all of their boundaries. The assailant is far more skilled, switches his tactics repeatedly, taunts the brothers mercilessly, knows all of their secrets, and eventually threatens to kill their father. After a long, drawn out conflict where the turtles let the masked assailant know they would die before they allowed their father to be harmed, the assailant reveals himself to be none other than Splinter, testing his students and sons for the battle ahead. It's a fantastic issue and the concept of a more battle ready Splinter definitely came to my mind while reviewing today's figure, Dojo Splinter. Ready for a look at this guy? Then join me after the break...

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Epic News: Bandai to make Power Ranger Legacy Saba and Tigerzord


      A rumor has been circulating the a Legacy Saba and Tigerzord has been floating around in The Toys R' Us database well now the White Ranger himself Jason David Frank has confirmed that on his FB page.  Both collectibles look like they will retail for $100 each, and be die-cast metal like previous Power Rangers Legacy products.  While we don't have a release date most likely expect these to be revealed at SDCC 2014 and available for sale sometime this Holiday season or Spring 2015.




Must Watch: 1989 Batman Preview Video


       Yesterday to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of Tim Burton's Batman WB released the above making of preview video for that iconic film which you can watch above.  Sorry we are a bit late on this one, but it is just too epic not to post.  Hard to believe this film is a 25 years old, I just seems like yesterday I was wearing out this VHS tape in my parents old home.

If you have the time be sure to leave a comment and let us know what you experiences with 89 Batman film where? Did you see it on opening night or just watch it over and over as a kid?

Epic News: Sly Stallone rumored to return for Rambo 5


      Rumor is that Sly Stallone is seriously considering returning to the role of John Rambo for a 5th and final time.  Apparently this time the story would revolve around Rambo taking down a Mexican drug cartel.  Not only that word is Stallone will write the script for the 5th installment.  Sounds a lot better than the Rambo 5 story rumor floating around a few years ago that involved Sly hunting a giant beast on the West Coast, however I don't know if many are excited for a Rambo 5 at this point.  

So is does anyone want to see a Rambo 5 besides BBQ17 and I if so let us knows in the comments.  Also let us know what you think about Stallone ending the Rambo franchise with a cartel battle.

Epic Photos: Paramount reveals Ninja Turtles Character Posters




            Paramount has revealed the first three character posters for Michael Bay's Ninja Turtles reboot out August 8th.  Really not too much epic about these photos as they look to further tarnish the persona of everyone's favorite teenage mutants. This all evidenced by the fact that Mike looks more like Godzilla next to those sky scrapers than and Leo looks like a Yette in that Snow.

What do you guys think of these poster is anyone still excited for this incarnation of the Turtles at this point? Let us know in the comments!





Must Watch: Purge 2 Anarchy Second Trailer


             Universal has released the second trailer for probably the most anticipated horror movie of 2014 The Purge 2 Anarchy out July 18th.  The fist Purge took audiences by surprise last Summer making $152 million dollars on a $3 Million dollar budget.  Expect the sequel to be bigger if not better

Thanks to the Purge FB page for the Trailer!

Action Figure Review: Extendar from Masters of the Universe Classics by Mattel


     I was shocked to read on many of the various Masters of the Universe related forums that so many collectors seemed completely cold towards Extendar. Being one of the last few Heroic Warriors we need to complete the vintage line I figured he'd be a heavily anticipated character. Released as part of the 5th series of toys in 1986, Extendar was definitely a standout character during the year that I was really getting into MOTU (I was only born in 1983). For a line that pretty much covered everything (barbarians, sea creatures, skeleton wizards, and ninjas), it was pretty wild to think that we didn't really have a traditional knight themed character. While MOTUC already has one knight in the Geoff Johns' designed Sir Laser-Lot, Extendar is the original knight in shining armor that so many of us remember (even if he did kind of steel Mekaneck's gimmick). Ready for a look at Extendar? Then join me after the break...

Monday, June 23, 2014

Check it out: Side Show Collectibles is doing another Dr. Doom Premium Format Figure


      SideShow Collectibles made a lot of high end Marvel Collectors happy tonight when they announced their second 1/4 Dr. Doom Premium Format Figure.  The first one they did is considered the grail of all Side Show Premium Formats, originally sold for around $350 that collectible now sales for close to $2200.  See Side Show Freaks it's always better to wait than over pay on Evil Bay, all good things come to those who wait!  Expect this one to retail for close to $425, the figure will be fully reveled and up for pre-order June 26th.  


Check it out: SH Figurarts announces Shielded Black Rangers as SDCC Exclusive


     SH Figurarts has revealed that their 2014 SDCC Exclusive will be The Mighty Morphin Power Rangers Black Ranger Shielded Edition.  The look comes from the Season 1 Episode of Power Rangers "An oyster Stew" in which Tommy gives Zack the Dragon Shield in order to fend off the Oysterizer.  Find more images of this epic figure and few more or our thoughts after the break......

Epic News: SideShow Collectibles acquires Evil Dead II License


       SideShow Collectibles has just announced in an email to subscribers that they will have products from Evil Dead II  in the near future.  This is a big announcement for high end horror collectors considering that the original SideShow Ash premium format figure from the first Evil Dead is now valued at around a grand after originally retailing for around $350.  This will give collectors the chance to own collectibles from this epic horror franchise at least at a semi- reasonable price.


Sunday, June 22, 2014

Epic News: Masters of the Universe Classics line to end next year


      All things Master of the Universe is usually Jerry's area of expertise, but considering it is his wife's b-day I figured I would cover this sad but epic story.  Apparently rumors are circling that 2015 will be the end of the beloved Masters of the Universe Classics line that so many collectors subscribe to via MattyCollector.com .  Stay tuned to Matty Collecor and The Epic Review for more on this developing story that we expect to hear more about at this year's SDCC in July.  


Friday, June 20, 2014

Epic News: Rian Johnson will Write and Direct Star Wars Episode 8


     The man who brought us Looper will Direct the next installment in the Star Wars Sequel Trilogy Episode 8 currently scheduled for release in 2017.  If Lucas Film and Disney were not going to stick with JJ Abrams who took on the massive job of relaunching the Saga then their is better option than Johnson.  As evidenced by films like Looper and Brick the Director should bring something a little bit different to the saga while still maintaining it's mythos.

Update: It also looks like Johnson will not only direct Episode 8, but will write the script.  Not only that, but Johnson will go on to at least pen a draft for the Episode 9 script however we have no information on whether or not he will also direct Episode 9 currently scheduled to hit theaters in 2019.


Be sure to leave us a comment and let us know what you think about Rian Johnson taking over the reigns from JJ Abrams for Star Wars Episode 8.

Check it out: Hot Toys Maleficent


        Hot Toys has released the images for their 1/6 scale Maleficent figure based on Angelina Jolie's performance of the character in this year's summer blockbuster of the same name.  Find more images, a potential price, our thoughts, and where to pre-order after the break....

Epic News: The Batman to possibly hit theaters in 2019


      Rumor from Warner Bros. is that the next solo Batman Film most likely starring Ben Affleck in the Cape and Cowl will hit theaters sometime in 2019.  The rumor is that WB saw Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight Trilogy as such an accomplishment they don't want to rush the character back to action on the big screen, even if making a new Batman film is like printing money.  The working title for the film is The Batman, but is in no way associated with 2004 animated show.  Why I would love to see Bats sooner I actually agree with WB on this one, Nolan's films transcended the Superhero genre so much that sometimes it is best let cinematic achievements such as those films linger with the public as long as possible.  

Let us know what you think in the comments is 2019 too long of a wait for a solo Batman film?

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Must Watch: Final Dawn of the Planet of the Apes Trailer


         Fox has released the final trailer for Dawn of the Planet of the Apes.  The trailer looks like it does more to show the epic scale of this film compared to Rise of the Planet of the Apes.  Caesar and his merry gang of Apes return to theaters July 11th.

Epic News: Paramount announces Transformers 5 for 2016

    Paramount recently confirmed at an event in Europe the sequel we have all been waiting for,  Transformers 5 will hit in 2016. At this point we have no actual release date or casting news. That's right surprise, their is going to be a Transformers 5! But these movies suck, why do they keep making them?  Because we keep going to see them, admit it as much as we pan these films, geeks always show up to them the way they we will on June 27th for Transformers 4 and two years later for the 5th installment contributing most likely to their 1 billion dollar world wide gross.  Think about it in the last 7 years we have had four of these film all with insane pointless stakes as well as billion dollar grosses and only one of which was watchable.  Of course all that is considering Age of Extinction isn't a masterpiece.  Hey I can't say anything I have seen all of these on opening night and only enjoyed the original, hoping the next installment will capture some of the semi magic of the first film.

So fellow geeks why do keep showing up for films? Is anyone actually excited about Transformers 4 or 5? Let us know in the comments!


Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Action Figure Review: Sam from Trick 'r Treat from POP! Movies by FunKo


     When you look at how many characters from a huge number of diverse properties that Funko has released in their POP! line, it's really quite impressive! To think that there are collectors who can have a display of hundreds of characters from multiple properties in one similar style is rather impressive, even to a more traditional action figure collector like myself. The only Pop! Vinyl figure I owned prior to this review was Batgirl (since I collect everything Batgirl related that I can get my hands on), but when I saw that Sam from Trick 'r Treat was available, I just had to have him. If you're not familiar with Trick 'r Treat, you need to check it out. It's a 2007 horror anthology written and directed by Michael Dougherty that features an excellent cast (including Brian Cox, Anna Paquin, Leslie Bibb, and Dylan Baker) and an incomparable atmosphere. I love both Halloween and horror movies and Trick 'r Treat stands alongside John Carpenter's Halloween as a perfect blend of the two. It's a film that was so incredibly fresh when it was released and yet it managed to feel like a special holiday movie that you watch every year on the holiday. I've shown it to both horror fans and non-horror fans and all have equally enjoyed it. Today's review is of Pop! vinyl's rendition of the film's primary antagonist/ protagonist Sam, played by Quinn Lord, who is the embodiment of Samhain and the enforcer of the rules of Halloween. Sometimes depicted as an impish, childlike figure, Sam can really go from treats to tricks when he learns of someone ignoring the agent traditions that are to be observed on Halloween night. Ready for a look at this fun vinyl? Then grab some candy, put on a costume, and join me after the break...


Epic News: Marvel's assault on it's first family continues as the Ultimate FF gets axed

     CBR broke the news last night the only six issue old new Ultimate FF series written by Joshua Hale Fiaklov is getting cancelled.  This comes as rumors have swirled in the comic book community of a concerted effort from Marvel Comics to suffocate and destroy the book that Stan Lee used to launch the Marvel Universe.  Sources suggest that Marvel Creators and Artist are not to use or reference the Fan 4, Dr. Doom, Silver , Galactus, or The Watcher as heavily or if at all as they have in the past.  The suspected reason for this axe is Marvel now owned by Disney does not want to publicize a Fox Studios based property.  But what about X-men isn't it a Fox Property? Or Spider-man isn't that a Sony property? Well yes but apparently Marvel Comics see's them as too big from a financial standpoint to ignore.  As a Marvel Zombie for most of my life this downright offends me, I understand that Disney owns these character's now but how can they simply systematically ignore one of the biggest pillars of the Marvel Universe? Studios are free to interpret characters how they want and update them for newer generations, but should they have a right to bury them? I guess so, it just saddens me that a generation of comics readers could miss out on these  Fantastic adventures.  I realize this could be a business decision as after two lackluster movies and few bad comic book runs the Fantastic 4 are dwindling from the American consciousness, but these characters are just as important as ever in the Marvel's Comics Universe!  The glimmer of hope is that with an up an coming Director like Josh Trank and a future A-list star like Michael B. Jordan being involved in the next Fan 4 film due out June 19th 2015 perhaps they ignite some fire into this property for a new generation of fans.

Please let us know in the comments what you think? Should Marvel do this to these beloved characters? Is it right? 


Epic Photo: Jurassic World Dino Teased


        Jurassic World Director Colin Trevorrow took to Twitter recently to give us our first Dinosaur related glimpse into Jurassic Park 4.  Not much to see here, we will have a big Dinosaur in the film woo big reveal huh? Despite not being as stoked as most of the film community is to see shadow I am very excited for the film that stars: Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, and Jake Johnson that opens June 12th, 2015!


Must Watch: New Expendables 3 Trailer


                Lions Gate has release a brand new trailer for The Expendables 3 due out August 15th that you can see above.  It looks s lot more fun with each trailer, it's going to be interesting see how Snipes, Mel Gibson, and especially Harrison Ford fit into this insane world that Sly Stallone has built.  My only gripe is I wish they would chill out on letting every UFC fighter into these flicks, after all aren't these supposed to be films about classic action stars?

Action Figure Review: Rahzar from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles from Playmates Toys

   
     I still remember when Rahzar first appeared alongside of Tokka in Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2: The Secret of the Ooze. On one hand, I was really excited because other then the turtles themselves we did not see any crazy mutant characters in the original film. On the other hand, to my seven year old self it seemed rather strange to invent two new characters when not only was the toyline and cartoon filled with excellent mutant villains, but the films had yet to introduce Bebop and Rocksteady. That's movie logic for you, though, and of course over time I've come to love Rahzar (who was voiced by master voice actor Frank Welker and played by Mark Ginther). Rahzar has been introduced into Nickelodeon's new TMNT cartoon series and toyline interestingly enough as a further mutation of Chris Bradford, the Chuck Norris look alike (voiced by Clancy Brown) who was secretly a member of the Foot Clan. Bradford was initially mutated into a large mutant dog named Dogpound, but a second mutation made him fiercer and faster, now being dubbed Rahzar! Ready for a look at this big bad wolf? Then join me after the break...

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Must Watch: Brand New Guardians of the Galaxy UK Trailer with Lots of Rocket Raccoon!

Action Figure Review: Drax from Marvel Legends Infinite Series: Guardians of the Galaxy by Hasbro


     If you've heard me mention Guardians of the Galaxy any on an episode of The Confirmed Epic Podcast, you know that I'm insanely excited for the movie. Heck, I'm actually getting together the pieces for a Star-Lord costume for Heroes-Con in Charlotte this coming weekend. Today I'm going to be looking Drax, another figure from Hasbro's Guardians of the Galaxy themed Marvel Legends series. Played by WWE wrestler Dave Batista, Drax the Destroyer is a man with a past and a mission who appears the be the strong, silent member of the Guardians of the Galaxy. While I don't think these figures are technically supposed to release until June 20th, they've been pretty widely available at a number of retailers and e-tailers. Perhaps it's because a comic version of Drax the Destroyer was released fairly recently in the Arnim Zola "Return of Marvel Legends" series, but he seems to be one of the easier figures to find in this series. The case of eight figures includes two Star-Lords, two Iron Mans, and one each of Gamora, Drax, Rocket Raccoon, and Nova. I hope these guys are easier to find than the Amazing Spiderman 2 and Captain America 2: The Winter Soldier figures, as there are figures from those sets I've never even seen. Also, this wave has Groot as a build-a-figure, a character who is one of the core Guardians of the Galaxy members. It'd be a shame if fans and collectors couldn't build him. I guess I'll stop rambling, however: put on your Awesome Mix and join me for a review of Drax after the break....

Epic News: Harrison Ford hurt on the set of Star Wars Episode 7 (Updated: Ford out 2 Months)


    Word from the set of Star Wars Episode VII at Pinewood Studios in London is that Harrison Ford has been injured while filming.  The 71 year old Ford was airlifted to a local hospital after suffering a fairly serious ankle injury.  Rumor is that Ford most likely sustained a fractured ankle when a hydraulic door fell and on his ankle.  No word on how this will impact the role of Han Solo in the film, but we do know filming is expected to continue.  May the force be with you Harrison!

Update: Ford will be out 2 months with a broken ankle, but the plan is for JJ Abrams to shuffle things around enough to avoid delay's by shooting Ford's scenes near the end of filming.

Thanks to the Hollywood Reporter for the update!

Check it out, The Cosplay of Heroes Con 2013: A review

     As we here at The Epic Review gear up for Heroes Con 2014 this weekend, we're wondering--how many of you, our readers, will we see there?  If you're considering going, check out the convention website, and take a look at our photos from the 2013 convention.  (Note: The Reel Brad Bell isn't in any of our photos because he's totally lame and doesn't dress up for conventions... and because he was in line all day to meet freaking Stan Lee!).


The Epic Review crew and friends.  Steampunk Generbeener, Applejack and Rainbow Dash, a Dalek, and Tunnel Rat. 

Monday, June 16, 2014

Check it out: Grand Budapest Hotel Mondo Poster


         Mondo has entrusted new Artist Vania Zouravliov to handle the poster for one the most popular films of this year Wes Anderson's Grand Budapest Hotel.  The poster hits the same day the film hits blu-ray Tuesday June 17th at a random time, keep checking the Mondo Site for availability.    The screen print measures 24x36 and will be an edition size of 275 for $50.  

Action Figure Review: Slash from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles by Playmates Toys


     The Slash figure from the vintage Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles toyline has always been one of my favorites! Much like Superman has Bizarro and He-Man had Faker to battle against, the TMNT had Slash as an evil version of themselves. The original figure looked much quite a bit like the turtles and he was armed with weapons that were warped parodies of their own. I think Slash was one of the figures I was most excited for in this new TMNT toyline that started in 2012 based on Nickelodeon's ongoing animated series. I ran into Slash yesterday along with a few other new figures (Rahzar and Dojo Splinter) and snapped him up immediately. In the new series, Slash (voiced by Corey Feldman) is originally Raphael's pet turtle who not only learns how to fight from watching Raph but also develops a grudge against the other turtles from listening to one to many of his hotheaded rants. Once mutated, Spike becomes Slash, a force to be reckoned with by man and mutant alike. Ready for a look at Slash? Then join me after the break....

Epic Photo: Halloween blu-ray Sets Revealed





    Anchor bay has released the images for their two upcoming Halloween blu-ray box sets due out September 23rd.  The left version is the 15 disc edition the comes complete with a slip case and a 40 page retrospective look on the series along with several alternative editions of the films and a ton of bonus content.  The 10 disc set featured on the right will be just the films.  The 15 disc edition with retail for $170 with the 10 disc versions costing $130.  

Alright Halloween fans which one will you realistically buy if either? let us know in the comments!

An almost Meta Masterpiece: 22 Jump Street Review


      Two years ago the original 21 Jump Street subverted all expectations about rebooting older properties for new audiences by directly addressing the negative stigma within the context of the film.  Directors Phil Lord and Chris Miller took shot after shot at this major property they were handed and thanks to the fairly new filmmakers risk taking style and the incredible on screen chemistry that polar opposites Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum had,  the result was one of the best films of 2012.  While 21 Jump Street surprised everyone with its quality and success, 22 Jump Street ended up as one of the most anticipated films of 2014.  So could Phil Lord and Chris Miller overcome the stigma of rehashed sequels like they overcame the stigma of reboots in the original?  Find out after the break.....

Sunday, June 15, 2014

Must Watch: Bridging the Gap Between Bane and the Bronies

Expected Heart and Unexpected Stakes: How to Train Your Dragon 2 Review


       The original How To Train Your Dragon that came out in the Spring of 2010 is one of my all time favorite animated films; for me personally, only the Toy Story trilogy ranks above it as far as my sheer enjoyment of an animated feature.  As good as the original was I found myself singing its praises so much that one after another friends and family members became mesmerized by the development of the heartfelt friendship of Hiccup (Jay Baruchel) and his dragon, Toothless.  As many people caught the original on home video after hearing good word of mouth, the hype going into the sequel was that of one of the most anticipated films of the Summer for many film goers and critics.  While the original transcended animated features the way that only the best Pixar films had, could DreamWorks match their competitor's achievement to make adults care about their characters just as much as kids time and time again?  Find out after the break....

Saturday, June 14, 2014

Check It Out: New Star Wars Black Cantina Showdown Set


     Andrew's Toys recently posted this image of what looks to be an upcoming Star Wars: The Black Series release: Cantina Showdown. They currently do not have a price or release date listed, but they do show this very clear picture that suggests the contents of the set: Han Solo and Greedo. You know, two of the three easiest to find Star Wars Black figures out there. Greedo is definitely a pretty common figure to find and Han Solo has appeared in both series 2 and 3 (some e-tailers have even discounted him quite heavily). This is a fairly attractive looking set in regards to the packaging, but is there any real reason for most collectors to purchase this set?  Not only do I own both of these figures, I reviewed both of them last year. More thoughts and details after the break....


Epic News: Jason Momoa to play Aquaman in Batman V. Superman


     The man who play Khal Drago on Game on Thrones and Conan the Barbarian: Jason Momoa will be the DC Cinematic Universe's Aquaman.   The character along with what seems like every other character in the DC Universe will make his debut in Batman V. Superman Dawn of Justice on May 6th 2016.  While I don't hate this casting I don't know if it fit's either.  Remember Josh Holloway was up for the role, who fits the bill for Arthur much better.  This comes as good news for Momoa who was beat out by Dave Bautista for the role of Drax the Destroyer in Guardians of the Galaxy.  The bigger problem here is that Batman V. Superman has now officially become an all out Justice League prequel with Aquaman, Wonderwoman, and Cyborg all confirmed with the two title characters.  We finally get to see arguably the two most iconic characters in the history of comics on the screen together and they now have to share it with every other character in the DC Universe.  I just want to see the Clark Kent and Bruce Wayne relationship have a chance to develop and thrive and it does not seem possible with all of these characters. 

What do you guys think of the casting? Could Aquaman be in Metropolis to hold Superman accountable for all of the damage in the Indian Ocean in Man of Steel like rumors suggest? Let us know in the comments!


Epic News: The Amazing Spiderman 3 rumored to be delayed until 2017


         Rumor is Marc Webb's The Amazing Spiderman 3 originally scheduled for a  June 10th 2016 release date has been delayed until sometime in 2017.  As much as Sony wants a new Spiderman film out every year The Andrew Garfield version of the character has not been the guaranteed box-office gold the studio thought it would be.  While the two Marc Webb films have done well all grossing over $700 million, none have yet to gross a billion or match any of the Sam Raimi Spidey films in total gross.  Maybe this is a good sign for Sony to rethink their writing and marketing for the third installment.  Rather than use every name in the Spidey catalog they need to focus on developing a few new characters and their relationship with Peter Parker.  Don't think the delay will improve the quality of these films, remember Sam Raimi's notoriously bad Spiderman 3 was delayed from 2006 to 2007.  While I was one of the few who enjoyed The Amazing Spiderman 2 immensely, hopefully this will give the studio time to craft the first truly epic Spidey tale since Raimi's Spiderman 2 back in 2004!

Friday, June 13, 2014

Action Figure Review: The Riddler from DC Designer Series: Greg Capullo by DC Collectibles


     While Mattel just re-upped their licensing deal with Warner Brothers to continue making DC Comics based toys, that news doesn't seem to matter much for many fans. The slow death of the much loved DC Universe Classics line and all of its spin off lines has definitely hurt the interest of most adult collectors and it doesn't even seen that Mattel is interested in offering any product to really appeal to that demographic. Fortunately, where Mattel has faltered DC Collectibles is picking up the slack; we are getting some of the best looking Batman and DC Universe based figures ever coming out this year, with a roster that includes characters like Power Girl, Jason Todd as the Red Hood, Arsenal, a Talon, Batgirl, Batman: The Animated Series figures, and today's review, the Riddler. Based on his appearance in more recent issues of the New 52's excellent Batman series which features the artwork of Greg Capullo, this version of the Riddler is a great modern interpretation of one of Batman's oldest foes (he first appeared in Detective Comics #140 in 1948!). Ready for a look at the Riddler? Then join me after the break....

Check it out: Side Show Collectibles teases their Star Lord Premium Format Figure


       The Guardians of the Galaxy marketing blitz continued last night as Side Show Collectibles teased their 1.4 scale Star Lord Premium Format Figure in their subscriber newsletter.  The comes after the company revealed they were make a Rocket Raccoon Premium Format last month, and that they would be selling the Hot Toys Guardians of the Galaxy line earlier last week.  The fact that it looks like Side Show is planning on making Premium Format's for all of the Guardians shows how much faith companies have in this new, but exciting property.  Most likely expect this Premium Format to be revealed at SDCC 2014, along with a Christ Pratt head sculpt.


Epic News: Rick Remender reveals AXIS

\

      During an interview with USA Today Marvel Writer Rick Remender gave the full reveal of Marvel Comic's next big event: AXIS.  AXIS will be a 9 issue arc that kicks offs October 9th that will team the X-men and the Avengers up to face Marvel's biggest baddies lead by the Red Skull and Onslaught.  The book will be a villain centric story, that Remender describes as Michael Bay film but with more heart.  The story will feature the art of Jim Cheung.  As burn out as I was on Marvel Event storytelling following Infinity, so much so that I didn't even pick up Original Sin this looks like a much more consumable event that may be worth checking out this Fall!


Blu-Review: Aids, Cross dressers, and Oscars- A Dallas Buyers Club Review


      After finishing HBO's True Detective Season One, I had a desire to finish what people in film circles have been describing as the "McConaissance", a true rebirth of the career of Matthew McConaughey.  A rebirth that took place over Mud, True Detective, and The Wolf of Wall Street, and finally culminated with his academy award winning performance in Dallas Buyers Club. This much talked about film from director Jean-Marc Vallee that, based on name alone, sounds like something right up a slick Texan's wheel house is anything but; find out why after the break....

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Epic News: DC Cinematic Universe Schedule leaks


     A massive rumor has the geek world on fire that following will be the roll out of the DC Cinematic Universe from Warner Brothers, which you can see with our thoughts after the break:

Epic News: Simon Pegg rumored for Star Wars Episode 7


     Rumor has it that the one and only Simon Pegg will have at least a very small role in Star Wars Episode VII.  Pegg was seen to have been spotted on the Abu Dhabi set which is most likely Tattooine, some believe Pegg shot a brief role others think he may have been just visiting the set.  Pegg is an admitted obsessed Star Wars fan so either way this makes sense. After working with JJ Abrams on Star Trek perhaps the Director allowed him a short cameo or at the very least gave his former actor the grand star tour.  While Pegg has said in the past he want cameo I find it hard to believe he want be in this film at least for a brief second, even if he is in costume and we never know it's him perhaps we will find out when the saga continues December 18th, 2015!

Must Watch: Turtle Power Trailer


      Paramount and Director Randall Lobb are bringing you the definitive Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles documentary: Turtle Power to DVD and On Demand August 12th just a few days after Michael Bay's Ninja Turtles reboot August 8th.  The Doc will trace the roots of the Heroes in a Half Shell from the apartment of creators Kevin Eastman and Peter Laird to the Turtle Phenomenon of the late 80's and early 90's to the resurgence of the Shell Heads today.  Based on the trailer i like the fact that the Doc seems to cover the turtle craze from so many different perspectives from collectors to casual fans.  As someone who grew up in the height of The TMNT hysteria I am just as excited for this as I am the new film!

Must Watch: The Interview Trailer


       Yahoo has just revealed the trailer to Seth Rogen and James Franco's next film: The Interview.  The film revolves around the two traveling to North Korea to assassinate Kim Jong-Un.  This is the type insane premise that makes the comedies these guys do just a bit different.  Yeah they have their occasional raunchy crowd pleasers such as Neighbors, but taking on something as controversial as this after they battled the apocalypse in This is the End last Summer get's me excited about this generations greatest comedic actors again!

Check it out: Mondo tackles Robocop Again

                                                       '

        Mondo is once again doing posters for the all time Paul Verhoven science fiction 1987 action classic: Robocop.  This time around Mondo has employed the talents of Tom Whalen and Ken Tong.  The slim 12x36 is the Whalen piece that will be limited to 300 and cost $45.  Tong has three versions of his posters all that measure 24x36: the red regular edition will be limited to 300 and cost $45, the gold variant edition will be limited 150 and cost $65, and the super rare metal edition will be limited to 35 and cost $300.  At this point it has almost become a right of passage for Mondo Artist to do a Robocop poster.  While these do not compare to the versions that Tyler Stout and Olly Moss did for the film they rank above all other verisions that included the likes of Tim Doyle, Jay Shaw, Martin Ansin, and Todd Slater.  These will go on sale today at the Mondo Store at a random time today June 12th!
                                            
 Thanks to Germain Lussier and /FILM for the beautiful scoop!