Thursday, March 31, 2016

Pop Culture Potluck Podcast #1: Do the Flash & The NCAA Tournament SUCK?




If there is one thing we know in the South it is the potluck dinner, a variety of the best home cooked recipes from different families and friends coming together for comfort.  The purpose of the Pop Culture Potluck podcast is to come together and discuss the issues in the world of: Sports, Gaming, Film, TV, Comics, History, and politics that we normally wouldn't discuss in any of our other podcasts.  Below you will find the guidelines for this new podcast.

Potluck Podcast Guidelines:

-Each host proposes 1 topic for each segment to be drawn randomly before the podcast

-No segment can last more than 10 minutes, 

-Left over topics will remain in the bucket for future use, but new topics will be added each show

-The final host chosen topics can be anything, and may relate to main segments but do not have to

-Email any questions or comments about this pod to thepicreview@gmail.com or tweet @thereelbradbell

Confirmed Epic Podcast #43 Directors Cut: Batman V. Superman & DC Rebirth Creative Teams





Brad, Andrew, Jerry, and special guest Editor at thegww.com Agasicles Stamas discuss Zack Snyder's Batman V. Superman as well as the roll out of DC's Rebirth creative teams at Wonder-Con 2016, and as always get into epic news, and what they have been checking out.

Our Audio engineers had some problems with our audio for this episode, therefore all we were able to post was the bigger longer uncut version of this pod, we apologize for the raw audio!

As always email any questions or comments about the show to thepicreview@gmail.com

Monday, March 28, 2016

Check it out: Hot Toy's Captain America Civil War Falcon






Hot Toy's has released their first images from their Captain America Civil War Falcon 1/6 scale figure, based on Anthony Mackie's portrayal of the character in the May 6th film.  You can pre-order the figure later today at bigbadtoystore.com probably for around $250, and expect and estimated early 2017 ship date.  I have to say this looks like it will be the definitive Falcon figure based on the red colors, and the epic addition of redwing alone.  While redwing isn't an actual Falcon as in the comics you have to give Marvel credit for the nod.

Let us know what you think of this new Civil War hot toy in the comments below, will anyone be picking this up?

Epic News: Batman Vs. Superman Dawn of Justice crushes March and WB opening weekend records


Despite being panned by many critics and fans alike, Zack Snyder's: Batman Vs. Superman Dawn of Justice fought it's way to the biggest opening ever in March.  Earning a record breaking $170.1 Million domestically, $424.1 Million World Wide in just three days the film passed the Hungers Games at $152.2 Million for the biggest March opening, and passed the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 at $169.2 Million for the biggest opening weekend in Warner Bros. history. Despite the negative reviews there is no doubt that this type of money in a single weekend will not halt WB or Snyder's plan for Justice League Part 1 which starts filming in April 2016 for a November 2017 release.  The question now will be if the box office dies down next weekend considering the film's negative buzz or will the holy trinity of Superheroes continue to push the films momentum forward on hype and curiosity alone?

Saturday, March 26, 2016

Check it out: Mondo's Ken Taylor Batman Vs. Superman Posters

Variant: 24 x 36, 

Regular, 24 x36

Mondo has revealed their Batman Vs. Superman Dawn of Justice posters, and they turned to the same man who did their Man of Steel poster for them: Legendary artist Ken Taylor.  While I am not blown away by this poster the way I was Taylor's Man of Steel print which hangs in my living room as I type this, there is no doubt the variant at least will be a hot print.  The fact that the variant features the mech suit that Batman fans never thought they would see in a film, will raise the scalping value of that print $30 to $40.  However The false God statue gives this print iconic DC gravitas that will have many of us heading to ebay, which is the only place you can find these since they sold out at mondotees.com in a matter of minutes.

Let us know what you think of Mondo's latest heroic effort in the comments below!

Friday, March 25, 2016

Check it out: Lego Batman Trailer


WB has released the first trailer for The Lego Batman Movie, featuring Will Arnett as Batman.  The film opens February 10th 2017.

Let us know what you think of the trailer in the comments below!

Check it out: WB reveals their Amazonian's


WB has revealed our first look at their Amazonian Warriors from Gal Gadot's Wonder Woman solo film, see the reveal at thegww.com

Thursday, March 24, 2016

Confirmed Epic Podcast #42: Puzzling over 10 Cloverfield Lane







Brad and Andrew review 10 Cloverfield Lane and get into the latest pop culture news, and what they have been checking out.

Feel free to share your thoughts on the show in the comments below or by emailing thepicreview@gmail.com

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Epic News: DC reveals new Batman Costume



DC Comics has revealed their latest Batman costume drawn by Greg Capullo and debuting in Scott Snyder's final issue of his critically acclaimed run.  Personally i really like the costume, Capullo has done a great job of combining elements of classic bat costumes such as the purple in the cape, while at the same time not sacrificing modernism. Batman #50 hits stores on April 13th.


Please let us  know what you think of the new bat suit in the comments below! It's better than Easter Bunny Batman right?

Check it out: Hot Toy's Wonder Woman




Hot Toy's has revealed perhaps their most anticipated item of 2016: Wonder Woman inspired by Gal Gadot's portrayal in Batman Vs. Superman Dawn of Justice.  I have to say the production here lives up to the hype and anticipation high end collectors had for this item.  A minor nitpick may be that the Gadot sculpt is just a bit off, but not enough to justify not picking up the figure. You can pre-order this beautiful 1/6 scale figure right now at bigbadtoystore.com for $235, you can expect this to ship this September. 

(Thanks to the Hot Toy's FB page for the photos)

Please let us know what you think about this latest Hot Toy in the comments below? 



Friday, March 18, 2016

Epic News: Marvel Officially draws sides in Civil War II


Marvel Comics has drawn sides for their upcoming blockbuster summer crossover: "Civil War II", get my scoop at thegww.com

Epic News: DC finds it's Mera


The beautiful Amber Heard will play the Queen of Atlantis in Justice League Part 1, get my scoop at thegww.com

Check it out: X-men Apocalypse Trailer 2


Fox has released the second Trailer for X-men Apocalypse out May 27th, check it out above and let us know what you think in the comments below.

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Check it out: Now You See Me 2 International Trailer


We have a new trailer for Director John Chu's Now You See Me 2, a sequel in the surprise summer hit of 2013 that starred Woody Harrelson, Dave Franco, Jesses Eisenburg, and Isla Fisher as the renegade magician group the four horsemen.  The original made my top 10 films of 2013 list by providing us with one of the biggest twists in recent cinema, and the sequel looks very promising bringing in Daniel Radcliffe as a rival magician, but replacing Isla Fisher with Lizzy Capaln due to Fisher's recent pregnancy as well as John Chu taking over directing duties for Louis Lerterrier.  While Now You See Me 2 won't have the element of surprise the original did, I am still expecting a solid summer flick.  The film also stars: Mark Ruffalo and Morgan Freeman, Now You See Me 2 hits theaters June 10th 2016.


Please let us know what you think of the trailer, and the original Now You See Me in the comments below!

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Check it out: Hot Toys Civil War Hawkeye



Hot Toy's has released the first images of their Civil War Hawkeye figure, with an accompanying Ant-Man riding an arrow accessory.  You can pre-order this later today at Big Bad Toy Store. Estimating based on my history with Hot Toys, I would expect this to be around $225 and ship around 10 months from now.  Personally I love the figure, every Jermey Renner Hawkeye that Hot Toys has done, has been given an absolute epic sculpt and this one is no different.  While I prefer his Age of Ultron outfit due to it's similarity to the original comics costume, anyone who was a fan of the "Ultimate's" Hawkeye which seems to be his Civil War costume inspiration will probably want to pick this up.  And come on Ant-Man riding an arrow, you guys know you are picking this up!


Please let us know what you think about Hot Toy's latest Hawkeye, and his little friend in the comments below!

Epic News: Indy is back!


Harrison Ford and Steven Spielberg are returning for Indiana Jones 5, get the scoop at thegww.com

Monday, March 14, 2016

Check it out: New Shredder Revealed


Paramount and Actor Brian Tee have revealed your first look at the new Shredder for the upcoming sequel TMNT Out of the Shadows out June 3rd, get my scoop at thegww.com

Thursday, March 10, 2016

CHECK IT OUT: Second Captain America Civil War Trailer and the MCU Spidey are finally here!


     Civil War is probably my all time favorite Marvel Comics crossover just due to reflection of real world issues like the Patriot Act played out by my favorite characters, so that fact alone has me stoked for this film.  Throw in the fact that Marvel now has the film rights to Spider-man, and my second favorite fictional character of all time is set to make his MCU debut, and I could not be much more excited. Fans of Spidey and the MCU have waited for this day for along time, a day we thought we may never see, Spiderman in an MCU film, and today's brand new Civil War trailer brings us our first glimpse of that.


   
     First off the trailer itself nails the political feel that the Civil War comic had, so in that regard there are no concerns for the Russo Brother's flick.  However I must say even though I dig the design of the new Spider-man costume without seeing the back, it looks very comic like, I also love the fact that his eyes much like Deadpool will be able to convey emotion through motion.  As for the overall feel of the character something seems a bit off, and I don't mean from a performance perspective, but rather how the suit looks in motion.  By portraying too much CG animation, and not enough grounded realism like we saw in Ryan Reynold's Deadpool costume or Andrew Garfield's Amazing Spider-man 2 outfit as it's homemade fabric fluttered so effortlessly through the wind.


     As a Spider-man fan I feel like I have been letdown cinematically ever since Sam Raimi's Spider-man 3 in  May of 2007.  Using the basis that Marvel has nailed the look, feel, and tone of almost every MCU hero I have incredibly high expectations for this character, fully expecting the best incarnation since Raimi's Spider-Man 2 in 2004. While the initial animation of this Spidey seems a bit off, I have high hopes that Tom Holland can take on the great power and responsibility that both Disney and Sony have trusted him with, and make up for any potential visual flaws.  We will have our answer when Civil War releases May 6th!

Please let us know what you thought about the new Civil War Trailer and the MCU Spider-man outfit in the comments or let us know by email at thepicreview@gmail.com and we will read your thoughts on the next episode of The Confirmed Epic Podcast!

Check it out: Hawkeye Civil War II comic teaser


Marvel has released yet another Civil War II comic character teaser, today it's Hawkeye. One of my top ten favorite heroes and probably the most under rated Avenger.  It is refreshing to know the purple archer will play a big role in the Civil War sequel comic unlike in the original series.  Now this probably has a lot to do with him being in the Film version of Civil War out May 6th, but if it means more Clint Barton I'm all for it.  Civil War is my all time favorite Marvel crossover event so I have high hopes for this series, and hope it is more than a cash grab film tie-in.  The prequel event: Avengers Standoff on Pleasant Hill, seems to be pointing the message of the series toward the  treatment of detainee's.  That series features a new Marvel prison facility that is an original interpretation on a place like Guantanamo Bay, and the debate of wether it needs to be open is front and center with Captain America on one side and SHIELD on the other.  While I think Civil War II will deal with more issues than this, it's a great sign the series seems to taking on real world issues again the way the original did the Patriot Act!

Are you excited for Civil War II? Let us know in the comments below!

Check it out: WB releases 2nd Suicide Squad Poster


Director of DC's Suicide Squad: David Ayers released the second poster for the upcoming WB film out August 5th.  Honestly not much here, but sadly that is with most studio poster these days.

Let us know what you think about the new poster or just how stoked for the film you are in the comments!

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

Check it out: Game of Thrones Season 6 Trailer


HBO has released the first trailer for Game of Thrones season 6 out April 24th check it out above, and let us know your thoughts on the trailer in the comments!

Epic News: Classic Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles to appear in new NICK TMNT series


The original turtles to appear on an upcoming episode of the new NICK TMNT cartoon, find out when and get my scoop at thegww.com 

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Confirmed Epic Podcast #41: Power Rangers #1 and The Ghostbusters Trailer





In episode #41 of the Confirmed Epic Podcast the crew discusses Boom Studio's Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #1 & react to the first trailer for the Ghostbusters reboot trailer. As always we discuss the epic news stories of the week as well as delve into what we have been checking out!

This podcast can also be found on it's new home on the GWW Radio Network!

*If you are having trouble listening on your phone please use the pod bean here!

*to find us on itunes no, just search: thepicreview podcast network or GWW Radio

*Please email any questions or comments about the show to thepicreview@gmail.com or leave them in the comments below, and thanks for listening!

Monday, March 7, 2016

Barbecue Reviews: Boo and a Purple Pikmin from the World of Nintendo





As some of you know from my Top 10 Toylines of 2015 list, I'm a pretty big fan of Jakks Pacific's 4 inch World of Nintendo line. Recently, though, I've realized that even some of the figures from the smaller scaled 2.5 inch line are compatible with the main 4 inch line and I've just reviewed two of them over at Action Figure Barbecue: Boo from the Super Mario Bros. series and a Purple Pikmin from the Pikmin series. Check them out!

Saturday, March 5, 2016

Barbecue Reviews: Star Wars: The Black Series Reviews Galore!!!





Recently I've been focusing on completing my Star Wars: The Black Series collection so thus I've been reviewing a ton of figures from Hasbro's 6 inch Star Wars: The Black Series line. Just over the past week I've posted reviews of:

Luke Skywalker and the Wampa!

Anakin Skywalker from Revenge of the Sith!

A Resistance Trooper from The Force Awakens!

Chewbacca from The Force Awakens!

Check out these cool reviews and many more over at Action Figure Barbecue!

Epic News: Han Solo getting his on Marvel Comic's mini-series this June


Marvel is giving Han Solo his own Marvel Comics mini-series this June, get my scoop at thegww.com

Friday, March 4, 2016

Epic News: Lions Gate reveals first Power Rangers Cast photo


Lions gate has officially released out first look at the new cast of the Mighty Morhpin Power Rangers movie due out in 2017, get my scoop at thegww.com

Thursday, March 3, 2016

Check it out: 1st Ghostbusters reboot trailer


Sony has finally released the first trailer for the Ghostbusters reboot out July 15th.  Now we truly know who we are gonna call!

Check it out: X-men Trumpocalypse Parody


Future youtube sensation Max Goodrich created this epic Donald Trump X-men: Apocalypse parody.
I would call the parody a win, win, win, so enjoy!


Epic News: WB already developing a Suicide Squad Sequel


 Word is WB has already green lit a Suicide Squad sequel behind closed doors, get the scoop from our mothership site Geeks World Wide.

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Confirmed Epic Podcast Episode #40: Fuller House






On the 40th edition of the confirmed Epic Podcast Brad and Andrew are joined by Everett Harn of thegww.com as  we welcome the Tanner family back into or life by reviewing Netflix's: Fuller House.  In Epic News we discuss: Our thoughts on Leo finally winning an oscar, sabertooth perhaps appearing Wolverine 3, and maybe even coloring books.  As always we delve in what we have been checking out: Age of Utron on Blu-Ray and the Witch.

This podcast can also be found on it's new home on the GWW Radio Network!

*If you are having trouble listening on your phone please use the pod bean here!

*to find us on itunes no, just search: thepicreview podcast network or GWW Radio

*Please email any questions or comments about the show to thepicreview@gmail.com or leave them in the comments below, and thanks for listening!

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Barbecue Reviews Han Solo and Tauntaun from Star Wars: The Black Series Phase II



     I've been picking up a number of the Phase II figures I missed the first time around from Hasbro's 6 inch Star Wars: The Black Series line and today I reviewed Han Solo and the Tauntaun. This two-pack has bee out for over a year now and while you probably won't find it in stores, it can still be found at most online sellers for a decent price. Is it worth picking up though? Check out the review over at Action Figure Barbecue today!

Check it Out: Batman Vs. Superman Keaton and Reeves style


Youtube channel Adeel Steel collected the above Burton Batman and Donner Superman footage to make an epic fan made trailer of maybe the most beloved versions of the characters not fighting, but working together in this World's Finest trailer.  May be sad to say, but I am just as excited about this trailer for a film that we will never see as I am for the real Batman Vs. Superman film out March 25th.

Please let us know what you think of the mashup in the comments below!